The Night before #TLDWpeel 2014

It’s the night before this years Teaching and Learning in a Digital World Conference #TLDWPeel and I sit here with my laptop in front of me at the island in our kitchen, coffee made, music playing in the background and my wife Shivonne (@SLewisYoung) to my left as we discuss our poster sessions and prepare for the two days ahead.  We certainly find our ourselves in a familiar situation with a little night before the deadline preparation.  For myself, I find the added pressure almost energizing.  Some might say that is the coffee but its Decaf.  Nonetheless, I am again super excited to be sharing some of my experiences over the next two days and I know Shivonne is just as excited to share her experiences.  Shivonne and a colleague will be sharing  their experience with Genius Hour in primary classrooms and I will be sharing my experience with using Social Media in the Intermediate classroom.

Other posters sessions for this years’ #TLDWpeel conference @ http://bit.ly/1yXYPQa

When I was asked by a few PDSB colleagues to present at this years’ TLDWpeel conference, the wheel began to turn.  I started a mental list of the various topics that I would be willing to share my experience with but as some may agree mental lists are not always the best if you are expecting to come back and have something to work with, especially days or even weeks later.  High on the list however, was to share about my experience using Social Media with my Grade 7’s,  School-based iPad management, and the others….it was a mental list and I am writing this blog post some three months after submitting my proposal.

I chose to talk about the use of social media in the classroom for a few reasons.  The first being that I have found great benefits as an educator to have come from Social Media tools such as Twitter, Blogs, Storify, Thinglink, Youtube and a ever expanding list that support the learning environment that I am trying to promote as well as my own professional learning.  The second, my students use it so why not take advantage of their prior knowledge, and help them make more of Social Media tools. Another was to help colleagues take advantage of the Social Media tools so many of our students are using and settle the fears they may have about them.

Here is to an excellent conference of sharing and learning.

Posted on August 19, 2014, in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on 1B4E – Shivonne Lewis-Young and commented:
    Cannot believe #TLDWPeel is upon us! Very excited for the next two day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know you’ll do Peel proud (as always).
    Have a great time at TLDW! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Ms. Armstrong

Adventures in Modern Learning

The Mad Spaceball

Space Journalist and Blogger: Because math and space give most of our minds the raspberry...

Justwondering

musings of a passionate inquirer

Zite's blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Epiphanies in Environmental Education

Curriculum Beyond the Classroom

#ETMOOC

A MOOC about educational technology & media - Coming January 2013

smalltownjules

Just a small town girl sharing her meanderings about life.

Peel21st Project 188

Sharing to "Inspire", One Day at a Time!

Math in the Middle

... Because one thought leads to another ...

Bits and Bytes

Integrating 21st Century Competencies

Bloggucation

Committed to: Providing relevant, responsive education so that each student becomes a life-long learner and contributing citizen in a diverse, digital world.

The Paperless Classroom

Online courses by Learn it in 5 Creator Mark Barnes

