Today was Genius Day

I can say that I anxiously awaited the arrival of our Genius Day for the past week.  It was set out to be the opportunity for my students to work through, and develop the project of their passions, thoughts, ideas and curiosities.  I was nervous though and rightly so.  Students at the intermediate level (Grade 7 and 8) are typically forgetful and apathetic when it comes to learning and school.  I told myself that today would be different and they, my students were excited for this opportunity to have an entire school day to develop their genius plans into to a true reality.

I arrived at school as usual with my coffee in hand, anxiously waiting for my students to arrive carrying whatever they would need to build, create, test, and make.  One after another they arrived asking to put their materials and ingredients into our classroom.  I would arrange the desk so that students working on similar genius projects this would hopefully keep my builders away from my bakers and so on.  We wouldn’t want electronics mixing with liquids that is unless there was an outlying project to explore.  As the students took their seat things were looking well.  We were sitting with almost 95 percent of students prepared to work.  The remaining served as our videographers who would document all of the work being done by their peers.

A few simple yet important instruction were shared before kick off.  1.  Follow your plan.  2. Be safe. and 3. Enjoy yourself.  They were off  building, creating, testing, and making.  The room was a buzz with an energy often unseen in an intermediate class unless they had been told that they had received an extension on a project due the next day.  I too was excited, excited to see their ideas materialize.

As the day wore on students were facing all sorts of challenges in the projects they had set out to work on.  Many of the challenges the face came as surprises and primarily because everything they had learned or read about to date had not been experience by themselves or had been edited in such a way that the errors made were unseen or removed thus leading them to believe the task to be simple.   Were they ever surprised when a challenge popped up.  And the indirect and unexpected learning that occurred was indescribably awesome.

I must say that our Genius Day was a success for the majority.  A success not because everything worked out as planned but because most learned from what the did or encountered over the day.

Below are just a few of the photos to share a glimpse into our day.

IMG_0362

Easy does it, remember what I was told "Be Safe!"

Easy does it, remember what I was told “Be Safe!”

IMG_0357

I can't wait to get this book published!

I can’t wait to get this book published!

I thought it was "measure once, cut twice"

I thought it was “measure once, cut twice”

What should I tell then next?

What should I tell then next?

What's it going to take to get this thing working?

What’s it going to take to get this thing working?

Related articles

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Ms. Armstrong

Adventures in Modern Learning

The Mad Spaceball

Space Journalist and Blogger: Because math and space give most of our minds the raspberry...

Justwondering

musings of a passionate inquirer

Zite's blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Epiphanies in Environmental Education

Curriculum Beyond the Classroom

#ETMOOC

A MOOC about educational technology & media - Coming January 2013

smalltownjules

Just a small town girl sharing her meanderings about life.

Peel21st Project 188

Sharing to "Inspire", One Day at a Time!

Math in the Middle

... Because one thought leads to another ...

Bits and Bytes

Integrating 21st Century Competencies

Bloggucation

Committed to: Providing relevant, responsive education so that each student becomes a life-long learner and contributing citizen in a diverse, digital world.

The Paperless Classroom

Online courses by Learn it in 5 Creator Mark Barnes

