#Project184 – A Fresh Look on an Old Idea!

It was Mid-February of last school year when I was looking for new way to have my students reflect on the learning that they encountered on a daily basis in order for them to gain a better appreciation of what we their educators were sharing with them within the confines of each classroom, it would also was a way for me to acquire feedback on my teaching practices.  Would the kids on my class reflect on what was being taught in my Language and Geography class or were they more likely to comment on the learning that they were doing in Science, History, Math or Art?  So I set out to my lifeline, the World Wide Web or those  educators who I followed on Twitter in search of ideas.  Of course, I came upon many suggestions the most common being #blogging.  But for myself #blogging was something I valued the benefits of but just never seemed to be able to dedicate the time to.  So I crossed that idea off the list.  The search continued, #twitter thats right “social media”.  Social media and education, are you kidding? Of course, why not? We could use #twitter and share our thoughts with a small following using a # (hashtag) created for the sole reason of sharing our thoughts about learning and the added benefit is that students could expand their musings with a greater audience by connecting with a hashtag such as #comments4kids.  That would be my plan through the remainder of the year.  I would consider blogging and the idea of #project184 in the new school year.

The #TLDW (Teaching and Learning in the Digital World) Conference, August 22nd and 23rd at Castlebrooke SS in Brampton lead by many innovative educators from @peelschools would be like the light switch that would turn on the blogging light switch both for myself professionally and for my teaching practices.   Of course I wouldn’t forget my close friends #twitter, #edmodo, and #google+ but I would turn myself toward the blogging world and my students this year would have the opportunity to be a part of #project184, a chance to reflect on and share about their learning experiences.

11 Days in, and I would have to say that my students are enjoying the opportunity both to blog and to share their learning experiences and it has not only told me much about my students as reflective learners but also as writers, where their interests lie, experiences that they have enjoy to date in this new school year and areas where they are struggling already.  They have done all of this by answering what would seem to be a simple question, “What did you learn today?”  I couldn’t be happier with the outcome of #project184, 11 days in.

Thanks George @gcouros #PSD70 and the #edu180atl project  your thoughts and sharing have been an inspiration for this project @treelinepdsb.  Maybe next year I’ll organize and school-wide or board-wide project sharing project.

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Ms. Armstrong

Adventures in Modern Learning

The Mad Spaceball

Space Journalist and Blogger: Because math and space give most of our minds the raspberry...

Justwondering

musings of a passionate inquirer

Zite's blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Epiphanies in Environmental Education

Curriculum Beyond the Classroom

#ETMOOC

A MOOC about educational technology & media - Coming January 2013

smalltownjules

Just a small town girl sharing her meanderings about life.

Peel21st Project 188

Sharing to "Inspire", One Day at a Time!

Math in the Middle

... Because one thought leads to another ...

Bits and Bytes

Integrating 21st Century Competencies

Bloggucation

Committed to: Providing relevant, responsive education so that each student becomes a life-long learner and contributing citizen in a diverse, digital world.

The Paperless Classroom

Online courses by Learn it in 5 Creator Mark Barnes

