The process…

I think 2007 or 2008 was the year.  I say this because with the addition of children to our home my memory has begun to slip me.  Back to my recount of events, it was 2007 or 2008, wireless and mobile technologies were readily available for almost anyone who knew what Bestbuy, Futureshop or Staples were, homes to the technology that we wanted at our finger tips.  And when I say we, I speak of all nerds and geeks who lovely everything technology.  I had a wireless home network that allowed me to venture almost anywhere within a 200 foot radius of this fantastic gateway bringing me information to my finger tips while sitting on my deck or in bed when I should have been sleeping.  During this same time period the Peel District School Board released the famous MyClass sites, a uni-directional means to share information with students at home.  Traffic on our MyClass sites at https://twitter.com/TreelinePDSB was explosive to the point that important people wanted to know what it was that we were doing in our classrooms.  At this time there were also the limitations within elementary level schools in Peel whereby connectivity to the web was only available through a wired network.  I couldn’t let this hold me back.  Configuring a wireless router was basic, the only difficult part would be to hide it from those who did not approve.  Connected to the wired Peel network and tucked away behind a desk with a hidden shelf my router began acting as my gateway to the outside world and a vast wealth of information that textbooks just could not provide.  Many times techs would visit the school to deal with unknown network issues expressing that a wireless router could be the cause.  My secret would stay with me and my teaching partner and BYOD was only a dream at this point.

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Learning About Learning

by Donna Miller Fry (@fryed)

Ms. Armstrong

Adventures in Modern Learning

The Mad Spaceball

Space Journalist and Blogger: Because math and space give most of our minds the raspberry...

Justwondering

musings of a passionate inquirer

Zite's blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Epiphanies in Environmental Education

Curriculum Beyond the Classroom

#ETMOOC

A MOOC about educational technology & media - Coming January 2013

smalltownjules

Just a small town girl sharing her meanderings about life.

Peel21st Project 188

Sharing to "Inspire", One Day at a Time!

Math in the Middle

... Because one thought leads to another ...

Bits and Bytes

Integrating 21st Century Competencies

Bloggucation

Committed to: Providing relevant, responsive education so that each student becomes a life-long learner and contributing citizen in a diverse, digital world.

The Paperless Classroom

Online courses by Learn it in 5 Creator Mark Barnes

